Books / Dystopian / Knopf / literary fiction

Book Review: Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84

1Q84 Cover ImageTitle: 1Q84

Author: Haruki Murakami

944 pages, Published by Knopf

Haruki’s Info: Website | Facebook

Summary:
The year is 1984 and the city is Tokyo.
A young woman named Aomame follows a taxi driver’s enigmatic suggestion and begins to notice puzzling discrepancies in the world around her. She has entered, she realizes, a parallel existence, which she calls 1Q84 —“Q is for ‘question mark.’ A world that bears a question.” Meanwhile, an aspiring writer named Tengo takes on a suspect ghostwriting project. He becomes so wrapped up with the work and its unusual author that, soon, his previously placid life begins to come unraveled.
As Aomame’s and Tengo’s narratives converge over the course of this single year, we learn of the profound and tangled connections that bind them ever closer: a beautiful, dyslexic teenage girl with a unique vision; a mysterious religious cult that instigated a shoot-out with the metropolitan police; a reclusive, wealthy dowager who runs a shelter for abused women; a hideously ugly private investigator; a mild-mannered yet ruthlessly efficient bodyguard; and a peculiarly insistent television-fee collector.
A love story, a mystery, a fantasy, a novel of self-discovery, a dystopia to rival George Orwell’s—1Q84 is Haruki Murakami’s most ambitious undertaking yet: an instant best seller in his native Japan, and a tremendous feat of imagination from one of our most revered contemporary writers. (Summary provided by Knopf.)

My Thoughts:

1Q84

I was initially skeptical when I began reading 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. I wondered, What makes this book such a critical darling? What sets this one apart? Why do I feel like I’ll be missing out on something huge if I don’t read it? 1984 by George Orwell is one of my favorite books and all I could think when I would read the summary above was, Rivals 1984? WTF? We’ll see about that!

 Turns out that the 1984 comparison is quite warranted. By the time I finished the first section I was in deep and turning pages rapidly. Though, this is by no means a quick read. It took nine days for me to finish this one.

1984 WOW

1Q84 follows the lives of Tengo and Aomame as they separately enter in a sort of parallel universe which Aomame names 1Q84. At the beginning of 1Q84 Tengo rewrites a novel called Air Chrysalis that a sheltered, young girl named Fuka-Eri has entered into a writing competition. Air Chrysalis is a fantasy story about a group of mysterious beings referred to as the Little People.

Throughout the novel there is much commentary regarding writing and literature. My favorite moment by far in the book was when Aomame procured a gun from Tamaru, a bodyguard for the wealthy dowager for whom Aomame is putting her life in jeopardy. The following exchange occurs:

“According to Checov,” Tamaru said, rising from his chair, “once a gun appears in a story, it has to be fired.”

“Meaning what?”

Tamaru stood facing Aomame directly. He was only an inch or two taller than she was. “Meaning don’t bring unnecessary props into a story. If a pistol appears, it has to be fired at some point. Checov liked to write stories that did away with all useless ornamentation.” (From 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami)

I was on the edge of my seat waiting for that gun to be fired. Does she ever fire it? You’ll have to read the book and find out.

1Q84 LOLThere were instances like this throughout the book. Murakami writes about literature and writing with a satirical wink at times and a dogmatic nod at others.  At one point, Tengo is reading reviews of Air Chrysalis and the reviews quoted could easily be criticizing the content of 1Q84. Murakami’s presentation of the criticism and Tengo’s response to that criticism seems to say,”I know what you’re going to say about this book, and here’s why you’re wrong.”

Murakami definitely has a swift sense of humor. In addition to the references to the writing world, there were other humorous moments in the book that caught me by surprise.  Ayumi, a minor and ultimately tragic character in the book, had some of the funniest dialogue I have read in a while. Also, Aomame’s penchant for balding men with odd shaped heads gave me a chuckle.

The thing that dazzled me the most about 1Q84 was the fantasy element. Anytime the Little People entered a scene it was a shock, and the scenes describing the construction of the air chrysalis were magical. Murakami described it with such detail that I felt like if I looked hard enough I could see the white silken strands in the air around me.

At one point in the book Tengo reads a story about a mysterious and very scary city of cats. I read this section late at night, and it totally freaked me out. There are a couple of instances like this where the action of the story stops and one of the characters tells or reads a story. Later, each of these instances is expertly weaved back into the action of 1Q84.

1Q84 SAD

Ultimately, the novel is a story about enduring love between Tengo and Aomame. A love so strong that one brief encounter twenty years earlier has made both Tengo and Aomame determined to be reunited in the strange, new world they have found themselves in. I was very sad to see 1Q84 come to an end. 1Q84 is a novel about many things. It is extraordinarily hard to explain or describe after just one, hasty reading. My best advice to you is to read 1Q84. Think about it. Ponder it. Then read it again.

~~

Make sure you don’t miss a thing! If you’re new to The Well-Read Wife, click here to subscribe. Be sure to follow me on Twitter and “like” me on Facebook.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84

  1. Mandy, great review! The book sounds fascinating. I’ve heard that before–if a gun appears in a story, it will definitely reappear, and that’s so true. How interesting that the author wove the art of writing into the novel. I might check this one out.

  2. Always love how thorough and honest your reviews are. I’ve read a couple of his stories and was ‘eh’ about them so I’ll see if I muster the will for the latest.

  3. I absolutely loved IQ84. For all the reason you said and more. I loved the characters and the world and was sad when I finished because I would not be spending anymore time with them. I was reluctant to pick up another book for a few days after I finished although my reading backlog is long. I took me about three weeks to finsih and I have been done for about a month. I am still thinking about it and pondering it, it is one of those books that will stick with me for a long time and will likely be one of the rare books I re-read at some point.

    Great review. Thanks.

  4. I’ve noticed this book hasn’t gotten many positive reviews. Having read most of Murakami’s previous works, I was a little worried; however, seventy pages in and I’m having a ball.

    Have you read any of his other works? Haruki Murakami is like Herman Melville…they each have their magnum opus; but, that shouldn’t keep you from reading the smaller works (except for his short stories…yuck!).

    Personally, I think Kafka on the Shore or Windup Bird Chronicles are his best…

    Nice review.

  5. If you strip away everything else, at its center, 1Q84 is really a love story. But there is quite a lot to the “everything else.” Haruki Murakami’s epic novel is the story of Aomame and Tengo, and the first two-thirds of the book are told in chapters switching between the viewpoints of the two. In the last third, a new character and POV is added to the mix. Like all those works, examining the novel felt like gradually sinking into a well of dreams, and being surrounded in a mood of fascination and off hand beauty/absurdity.

    So generally, if you love his novels like me, this is a must read and a good time : If you’ve never read him, you may want to start with something shorter like Hard Boiled Wonderland.

  6. Pingback: Angry Flat Cap’s Literary Hour: 1Q84, by Haruki Murakami | Angry Flat Cap

  7. your ‘WTF’ face I can totally identify with… I’m currently in the middle of the whole book.. I’m 15 years old and that’s literally all I can think of right now… WTF IS HAPPENING

Leave a comment